Canyon announces new esports team: Canyon ZCC


We are proud to officially announce the formation of the world’s first professional eRacing team: Canyon ZCC.

Since the team’s inception, the two squads have already proved incredibly successful winning both the women’s and men’s edition of the inaugural Zwift KISS Community League – the league which sits below the better-known Super League. The team’s dominance is even more impressive considering 6 of the 10 riders also raced in the Super League representing Zwift’s Community squads. Not only this but in March, 3 riders were able to claim Zwift National Championship titles, and James Phillips claimed 2nd place in the televised live final for the British title. It is clear the team and riders have proven themselves against some of the strongest riders racing on Zwift today.

The team has become famous in racing circles not only for its results but also for its striking kit, which the riders wear whilst racing in real life and in Zwift. The design and inspiration for the kit takes its visual inspiration from the early rave era in the 90s – an inspiration directly reflected in the team’s first photoshoot.

“It’s about being different to the mainstream and embracing the freedom that comes with that. eRacing is still in its infancy, but we have always seen its potential and are excited to be pioneering the future of the sport”, says Team Manager Rhys Howell.

To celebrate the launch of the team, Canyon will release a limited number of 50 replica team kits that will be sold exclusively through its website These will be available to purchase from May 7th on.

Rhys Howell, Team Manager says, “In a very short space of time, we have built an incredibly close-knit team of riders who share our vision to build the ultimate eRacing team. This is just the beginning.”

The team consists of 10 riders made up by a women’s and men’s squad, currently with 5 members each. Each rider is provided with an Aeroad CF SL, striking team kit direct from Canyon along with allowances for travel to events. Wahoo are the trainer sponsor and provide each rider with a KICKR, HEADWIND, TICKR and CLIMB, with Nuun providing nutrition. The team competes in races exclusively online on platforms such as Zwift, complete with a race radio and DS giving instructions and providing information throughout the race.

WMN Squad

  • Kristin Falck (NOR)*
  • Eva Buchholz (GER)*
  • Siri Hildonen (NOR)
  • Nathalie Eklund (SWE)
  • Laura van Regenmortel (NED)

MEN Squad

  • Alex West (NZL)
  • Steve Young (GBR)
  • James Phillips (WAL)
  • Lionel Vujasin (BEL)*
  • Philipp Diegner (GER)

*Denotes Zwift National Champion.

Next Post